Back in the Blogging Saddle


I am at best an occasional blogger.  I started this blog about 2 years ago and, for whatever reason, stopped it entirely.  I haven’t written any other blogs either.  I seem to have gone through a less personal phase of spouting my comments on facebook and to friends and acquaintances who usually politely listen and sometimes comment.  Thank you for the comments.

So I am back today attempting to continue this blog.  I have been told that blogging is a good way to improve your writing skills.  That sounds good.  Whether the posts have a readership or get comments (yes, I know that consistency helps) is perhaps not as important as organizing my thoughts for the sake of readers but also for myself.

Having re-read my previous posts I actually found that I was reasonably satisfied or, at least, not terribly embarrassed by what I had written.  That is why I feel some motivation to do this now.

One issue for me is that I don’t want to go after all the aspects of my varied interests in one blog.  That would likely be harder to follow and would probably confuse me as well.  So I decided that this blog with be limited to issues of politics and its impact on various aspects of our society.

Upon reflection I realize that I am energized by the ‘occupy’ movements.  I did attend the Oakland General Strike and found that to be an inspiring event which also raised my optimism.  I had wondered, mostly quietly, about how bad things could get before a ‘tipping point’ is reached and spontaneous, contagious social action begins to flower.  Well now I know.  Of course I wish it had happened sooner but I am grateful that it has happened and is still happening now.

I look forward to hearing to receiving comments and to productive discussion of ideas and maybe even resolution of conflicts.  So here  goes.  See you again soon.

 

About perkustooth

I am a registered nurse, writer, photographer and composer living in Alameda. I am originally a midwesterner and was born and raised in Chicago.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

