Apocalypse Tomorrow


20121220-114618.jpg

Well here we are, finally. The preponderance of scholarly evidence suggests that December 21, 2012 is the date at which the Mayan calendar ends. So, as usual, there are a number of apocalypse-loving folks who have found it another in a historically long line of reasons to declare the end of the world.

What I fail to understand is why this causes such terror. If indeed the world is ending then there is presumably nothing we can do about it. So why worry? It’s too late to build a bunker or a spaceship. I think it’s probably too late to acquire the amount of forgiveness necessary to be admitted to heaven or to be floated up in the rapture.

I work nights so I will be very awake at midnight (PST) so I will post something witty if the world ends then. And I expect to arrive home at about 8AM. Perhaps I shall stay awake until noon just for sport. But that Mayan calendar apparently failed to tell us with which time zone it correlates. In fact I just saw a post on Facebook from New Zealand where it is already December 21st and they claim that the world has not ended.

Unfortunately our times are such that perhaps the world deserves nothing more than an end. An end to wars, an end to genocide, an end to various forms of cruelty including poverty of mind and body. An end to selfish materialism, an end to gun violence, an end to suffering and sadness of every kind.

So if the world does end tomorrow I think it would be simply appropriate. And I am prepared in my mind to accept whatever happens. I will simply go on my routine existence still hoping and working for better times ahead if the world does not end.

I have no time or room for major fears in my life. So if tomorrow is that often predicted apocalypse for real then I would rather meet it with welcome than with fear. Here’s hoping for a better tomorrow if there is a tomorrow. I would welcome that as well.

About perkustooth

I am a registered nurse, writer, photographer and composer living in Alameda. I am originally a midwesterner and was born and raised in Chicago.
This entry was posted in 2012, apocalypse, astrology, cults, Debates, eschatology, esoterica, mass murder, Mayan calendar, Mayan prophecy, media, News Cycle, prophecy, Religion, Revelation, the end. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

